Kelly from FabFoodFairy.com Shares an Out of This World Nacho Recipe – Not’yo Normal Nachos!

Not’yo Normal Nachos!

Yesterday, on my way home from work, I stopped at Target to grab a few things, when I was struck with a brilliant idea for a recipe. I was a bit apprehensive that it was either going to be a stroke of genius or an epic failure, luckily for us all, it was brilliance!

I shamefully admit that I am not a lover of traditional nachos. My quirky food issues should disqualify me from being a food blogger, but they also challenge me to create different, unique recipes. So, my fabulous idea was to create pulled pork nachos with barbeque potato chips. I KNOW!! I feel an insane sense of guilt over the complete disregard for nutritional value, but everything in moderation, right?

First, I perused the chip aisle. What choices! I couldn’t decide, so I bought four different types and let my friends choose in a taste test. I bought Herr’s Kettle Cooked Mesquite BBQ Potato Chips, Archer Farms Smoky Chipotle Cheddar Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Potato Chips, Utz “The Crab Chip”, and Food Should Taste Good’s Sweet Potato Chips. Then, I picked up some Jack Daniel’s prepared pulled pork in the refrigerated aisle. Finally, I grabbed a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Original BBQ Sauce, and a package of sharp cheddar cheese. With my ingredients chosen, I dashed home to create my masterpiece.

When I got home, I separated the chips into four piles over two platters. I then spooned the warmed pulled pork in dollops onto the chips. I drizzled the BBQ sauce over the chips and pork, then topped with the cheddar cheese. Finally, I put the platter in the oven on broil for a minute or two to melt the cheese. TADAAA!! I had created some of the best Not’yo Normal Nachos!

As for the taste test, I imposed on a group of my neighbors to be my nacho guinea pigs. I think both platters were cleaned within 2 minutes. Even the littlest neighbors loved them! We all decided that we liked the Archer Farms Chipotle Cheddar Reduced Fat Chips for their spicy kick and crunchy texture and the Food Should Taste Good’s Sweet Potato Chips because they too remained crispy, but added some sweet to the savory pulled pork flavors. I also believe that it would be great if you mixed all four types of chips in a confetti style platter! Most likely, that is what I will do next time.

So there you have it. A quick easy homerun of a recipe that is cheap, easy, and sure to please. This is also one of those recipes that you can’t screw up, unless you leave them under the broiler too long!!! Try them. I promise you will not be disappointed!

 Kelly is the Mom behind the Fabulous Food Fairy Blog. While she is not a professionally trained chef, She is a kid tested mother of three, who teaches full time, and still manages to cook a sit down family meal most nights of the week. She says that many days, she wishes for a magic wand or a fairy godmother to pop in and make a beautiful dinner appear, but no such luck. Kelly realizes that sometimes the hardest part of dinner is figuring out a meal that her kids will actually eat. She created The Fabulous Food Fairy so that readers won’t feel hopeless about dinner, or so that busy moms are not forced to resort to the local drive through or a boring bowl of cereal as a meal. Family dinner can be so much more. Kelly also feels that dinners together are fundamental to raising and maintaining a healthy, balanced family. The Fabulous Food Dairy blog shares a variety of tried and true recipes for a multitude of kitchen needs, from a kid friendly casserole, to a mom friendly cocktail! It is like having a group of best foodie friends at your fingertips. As the Fabulous Food Fairy, Kelly aims to grant your kitchen wishes and transfer your dull weekly menu into a magical moment of family fun!

Follow the Fabulous Food Fairy on Facebook and Twitter for yummy recipes and foodie tips. Check out her Lasagna Muffins recipe.. A-MA-ZING! You can also take a peek inside her kitchen. We posted her FABULOUS Kitchen Renovation series a few months ago.

Leave a comment