Tasty Tuesday



With good weather promised in the forecast (eventually) this week, I bring you this simple (and AWESOME) recipe I promised you last week.

I love grilling. I love the way it smells. I love the memories it evokes from cookouts past. And I love the way it makes me feel. It gives me the feeling of freedom and passion that Summer brings. And if you are anything like me, you cannot wait for the warm, carefree season to begin!

With summer-like weather supposedly coming at some point this week (a Spring Break week at that!), I thought it appropriate to share with you an amazing marinade recipe I stumbled upon. I found it last Spring, and used it religiously (read: 3-5 times a week) last Summer. Now that the weather is warming up, I have every intention of resurrecting the tasty vittle, celebrating what is to come!

This recipe is simple, and can be used with a variety of items – chicken, meat or vegetables. I love that the ingredients are stored in most pantries, and are easily at hand. It comes together in a cinch, and tastes absolutely delicious! Make sure to give it a try later this week when the sun breaks through the clouds, and your grill begs you to heat it up…

~~~~~

Awesome Grilling Marinade

  • 1 2-3 lb steak, 1-inch thick (look for the label “London Broil”) OR 8 pieces of chicken (your choice – I like boneless skinless chicken breast)
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup Real Lemon from the bottle
  • 1 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed or 2 tablespoons of crushed jarred garlic
Combine ingredients (minus meat) in a bowl and whisk vigorously (until well combined). Place meat into a container (I use a gallon sized Ziplock bag, often double bagged) and pour marinade in (feel free to reserve a small amount for basting while you grill). Marinate for 2 -3 hours. Cook over medium hot coals (or medium-hot heat on a gas grill): 5-10 minutes per side for London Broil/beef, 5-8 meats per side for chicken. Times will vary with different meats and different grills.

~~~~~

I love serving this alongside corn-on-the-cob, macaroni salad and deviled eggs. Augh! Just piecing that menu together makes me hungry and anxious to have a cookout!

Feel free to use this recipe on boneless skinless chicken breasts, london broil, or vegetables. Kabobs would be delectable if you marinated the skewered items in this first.


So don’t delay – I’ll be posting some great Cookout Side dishes in the season to come. Have a great week!

You can read more about Steph and her recipes at her other blog, Confessions of a Stay-At-Home Mom.

Leave a comment