Trendy Thursday: MY SUMMER WAS….OH SO COUTURE!

COUTURE is defined as the business of designing, making, and selling high fashion custom-made clothing & accessories. On Bridie’s Baubles my Jewelry & Accessories Boutique, MEG Jewelry is our top selling couture line. This summer I had the honor to assist the designer Meg Lammers of MEG Jewelry at a Kleinfeld’s Trunk Show in New York City. Kleinfeld’s is a world renowned Bridal Boutique offering the largest & finest selection of bridal gowns worldwide. Over the past few years Kleinfeld’s has become a large part of Reality Pop Culture with the TLC TV Show “Say Yes To The Dress”. And yes they were filming while I was there, as well as preparing for a wedding segment on ABC’s “The View”. It was captivating to be behind the scenes watching beautifully statuesque models being fitted in designer wedding gowns than accessorized to perfection! And even more exciting to see both shows play out on television this past summer!

Kleinfeld’s is definitely all about “The Experience”. From the second I stepped out of the cab in Manhattan, the famous Kleinfelds windows greeted me. Proving that Fashion is simply a beautiful form of art! As I opened the very tall and impressive glass doors I walked into a beautifully manicured oasis. For this fashion maven it may not have been about my experience as a Bride but more about the mystique! I spent my two-day hiatus from Mommyhood in the accessories boutique downstairs at Kleinfelds. The downstairs boutique is where the brides arrive for their fittings and are greeted by fabulously sparkling baubles and luring shoe walls filled with the likes of Jimmy Choo! I was in an accessory heaven!

Amidst the bustle of seamstress fittings, where the bride to be is surrounded by family & friends. She is swiftly transformed into a bridal version of Carrie Bradshaw in oh so glamorous shoes, veiled and baubled to perfection. Meg and I greeted these strong self assured brides to be and draped them in stunning designs like this Penney Necklace and the Abeye Bracelet & Abeye Earrings (My Boho side adores Abeye pearl less!).

But as I said it was all about the experience and for this stay at home Mom it was nice to get swept away in NYC for a weekend of fun. I styled my heart out, took in a show (Burlesque actually & LOVED IT!), enjoyed a few cocktails on the town with a few other fun and fearless women and hopefully added a sparkle to someone else’s dream day. All in all it reminded me I am not just Mommy but a sassy business woman. And when I am ready and that day is arriving sooner that later, I will have the option and the courage to jump back in and COUTURE MY CAREER, customizing it to fit me perfectly!

Bridget Burns-Walsh is the Owner of Bridie’s Baubles

A Unique Jewelry & Accessories E-Boutique ~ PHILLY HOT LIST for BEST WOMEN’S ACCESSORIES – 3rd Place 2011

Leave a comment