Trendy Thursday: Introducing our Newest Philly Burb Mom Contributor

We here at the Philly Burb Mom sites are REALLY excited to introduce you to our newest contributor, Bridget Burns-Walsh. Bridget will be bringing us up-to-the-minute fashion trends, tips for dressing stylishly on a budget, and spotting steals and deals as part of our bi-weekly Trendy Thursday column. We welcome Bridget into the Philly Burb Mom family and look forward to being just a bit more fashionable here in the Philly ‘burbs!


We asked Bridget a few questions so that our readers could get to know more about her and her background:


1. Hi Bridget! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your family?

Born & raised in NE Philly, a graduate of Philadelphia University. I earned a BS in Fashion Merchandising/Apparel Management & Business. I have worked as an Assistant Buyer, Trim Designer & Visual Merchandiser. The eight years prior to becoming a mom-prenuer, I managed Call Centers in the US & Canada as a Director of Client Services & Operations. The most rewarding path to date has been raising my two fabulous lil men (ages 3 & 5) and being married for seven years to my amazingly kind & supportive hubby. Presently, residing in West Chester, PA. I love to explore with my boys, discover new wines with my hubby, laugh with good friends, decorate, cook, style, shop, read and just be creative! My newest adventure Blogging!


2. When did you start Bridie’s Baubles? How did you get the idea to launch this type of store?


Bridie’s went live in November 2006! Owning my own boutique is the dream of a thirteen-year-old teenager captivated by big cites, upscale boutiques & large department stores!


While planning our wedding and always in search of unique accessories I found a lack of upscale accessory boutiques. Looking to retire from corporate America and end the sixty-hour traveling workweeks to raise my family, the concept of an E-commerce boutique was born! Our name Bridie’s is a Diminutive form of Bride, and Anglicized form of Bridget. And well a Bauble is a showy shiny trinket so the two were married!

3. What do you like best about being an independent store-owner?


This career choice allows me to keep my family as my first priority while enjoying the fringe benefits of great accessories! I am afforded the opportunity to learn and grow in a career I love. I am the master of my own domain, defining my own style one day at a time.


4. Tell us a little bit about what trends you are seeing in the bridal accessory industry right now.

Romance and dreamy style is key this Spring, it was all the buzz at the Bridal Market week. It is all about dimension, soft fabrics & texture, organza, tulle & lace with lots of texture, ruffles, layers & flowers. Surprisingly enough many designer dresses are donning Pick up skirts accompanying the runway with Trumpet & full flirty skirt styles! Accessories are dramatic necklines, cuff bracelets, feather fascinators, hair accessories & hats. Black & white weddings are making a large imprint this Spring as are saturated bright colors like turquoise & kelly green matched with yellow for a little eccentric touch! Peacock inspirations and hair accessories are bold new looks turning an average Bridesmaid into a Trendsetter!


5.You also sell jewelry to people other than brides, right? Tell us about that.


Bridie’s offers Fashion & Couture styles. Our objective is to offer affordable unique accessories that transform from the “I Do’s” to a Night on the Town or Everyday Chic. Bold Swarovski crystals & funky pearls both full of color and edgy styles, unique satin ribbon & cuff bracelets, statement necklaces & monogram jewelry & gifts, fun hair accessories, lil girl sparkling jewels &, fashion forward purses & chic bolero jackets. Most of our items are customizable and Bridie’s offers free style consultations for your everyday style or special event!


6. So, here’s the age-old question Bridget, How do you manage being an on-line store-owner and consultant with your duties as a mother and wife?


Let me know when you figure it out! Each week I set out with a To Do list by day and it is driven by my lil men’s schedules. From there I fill in the blanks. Some days are dedicated to merchandising the boutique with new lines, others to social media or bridal consultations. Life moves fast I guess I just jump on board and juggle just like the next Mom!


Bridget, we can’t wait to read your bi-weekly Trendy Thursday column here at Philly Burb Moms. Thanks so much for sharing your industry experience and eye for fashion and trends with all of our readers!


Bridget’s first article will be posted here next Thursday, March 10th. Make sure you come back to check it out!

Leave a comment