Tasty Tuesday


Welcome to another installment of Tasty Tuesday here at Chester County Moms! I’ve been trying to mix it up (no pun intended) with recipes for every course: main meals, desserts, sides, etc. Since Cookouts will soon be the summer staple dinner of choice, I wanted to throw out a great family recipe (from my family, of course) for an amazing summer side!

We all have pasta salad and macaroni salad recipes in our Recipe Repertoire. The recipe I bring you today is a macaroni salad recipe that my mom, Georgine, makes. I’ve grown up with it, so I love it. But, I’ve made it a lot for cookouts and parties, and I get a great reception over it every time. With the addition of green olives, it has a kick that many other macaroni salads do not have, and I think it is a cut above the rest šŸ™‚

~~~~~

Georgine’s Macaroni Salad

  • 1 box (1lb) Elbow Macaroni, cooked, drained and cooled according to package directions
  • 1 cup of chopped green olives with pimentos (reserve 2 TBS of the olive juice from the jar)
  • 1 cup shredded carrot
  • 1 stalk of celery, chopped (I don’t like celery, so I don’t use it!)
  • 1 to 1-1/2 cups of mayonnaise
Combine the pasta, olive juice and mayonnaise (if you like mayonnaise, use the higher amount listed). Add chopped olives, celery and shredded carrots. Combine and enjoy!

~~~~~

So great! Again, I don’t like celery (I know, it doesn’t taste like anything – but I think it’s the crunch it adds that I don’t like), so I don’t use it. If you want to get crazy, add a little Red Bell Pepper! So many options!

I’ll bring some more great Summer recipes over the next few weeks, so check back!

You can read more about Steph’s life and recipes at her blog, Confessions of a Stay-At-Home Mom.

Leave a comment