Tasty Tuesday


I came up with this recipe during the blizzard season from a few months ago. While enduring Cabin Fever, after being cooped up for several days on end, I couldn’t help but develop a craving for restaurant food. My body wanted OUT of this house, and AWAY from the same food we’d been eating for days on end.

I have found that being able to recreate restaurant meals at home is a great way to save money. For a fraction of the cost of eating out, you can enjoy the same great tastes with your family. I love this. And trying to imitate the recipes juuuuust right is a fun adventure.

This recipe is my version of a simple Olive Garden favorite – “Capellini Pomodoro.” I order it almost every time I go to Olive Garden. I realized it is a super simple meal, one that I should be able to make at home. So I tried. And it worked. And it’s GOOD.

~~~~~

Steph’s Linguine with Tomatos, Garlic and Basil
  • 1 box of Linguine (I used 100% Whole Wheat)
  • 1-2 TBS Olive Oil
  • 1-2 heaping TBS Minced Garlic (depending on your taste buds)
  • 1 can of Petite Diced Tomatoes, partially drained (leave a bit of the juices)
  • 1/4 cup of Fresh Basil, chopped (or 1 tsp of dried basil)
  • (Optional) Grated Parmesan Cheese
1) Prepare Linguine according to package instructions. Drain and set aside.

2) While Linguine is boiling, eat Olive Oil in a large pan over medium-low heat. Add garlic, and saute 2 minutes (do not overcook). Add tomatoes (with reserved juices) and basil. Cook for 3-5 minutes, until mixtures is almost bubbling.

3) Add the linguine to pan, and toss with the tomato mixture for 1-2 minutes.

4) Transfer to serving bowl, and sprinkle with parmesan cheese if you like.

~~~~~

Not only is this meal tasty, but it comes together in a SNAP for those crazy week night dinners. It is so simple, without losing any ounce of deliciousness. Those are my favorite kind of meals!

I hope you enjoy – leave a comment below to let us know how this turns out for you!

You can read more about Steph’s life and recipes at her other blog, Confessions of a Stay-At-Home Mom

Leave a comment