Tasty Tuesday


A meal is not complete without dessert, so from time to time, I’d like to stray from the entree end of things, and present a tasty treat recipe in its place! My friend told me about this phenomenon of a recipe several years ago. Upon finishing her statement, I shook my head in disbelief. There was no way her recipe would work. I was pretty sure that, as a scientific fact, it was not physically possible. She assured me that her mother has been using this recipe for years, and it turns out perfectly every time.

So, more out of sheer curiosity than anything, I tried the recipe out myself. I considered myself a culinary scientist, and this was my latest experiment. And wouldn’t you know, the dessert turned out just right? This is why I do not have a degree in science. Or baking.

My top 5 reasons for trying this recipe out:

1) It’s fun.

2) It goes against science. And we all like being rebels.

3) Because it’s a bit odd, you can have some fun in the kitchen with your kids while trying it out

4) It’s super simple. I like having this on hand, just in case I have to quickly throw together a dessert

5) I was quite surprised to find out this dessert is remarkably good! Yum!

So without further ado…

~~~~~

Cola Cake

1 boxed Chocolate Cake Mix

1 can of diet Coke (or Pepsi. Or your favorite generic Cola)

Empty cake mix into a bowl. Open the soda can, and pour over cake. DO NOT use any of the other ingredients the box tells you to use. ONLY the soda. Mix. Pour cake into 2 8-inch or 9-inch cake pans (will also work with a 13×9-inch pan). Bake as directed on box.

~~~~~

Does that not BLOW YOUR MIND?? And let me tell you, this cake comes out SUPER moist and incredibly tasty. If you don’t believe me, you will have to try it for yourself.

For the Adventurous Bakers, I have been told this also works with vanilla/yellow cake mix and 1 can of cream soda. I have not tried it myself, but far be it by me to withhold this information from those of you who are willing to attempt it.

PS – if you try it, PLEASE let me know how it turns out!

Have a great week!

You can read more about Steph and her recipes at her other blog, Confessions of a Stay-At-Home Mom.

Leave a comment